How to Change World Tier in Diablo 4

Discover how to change World Tiers in Diablo 4. This guide walks you through the process and explains each Tier, helping you tailor the game's difficulty level to match your skill and preference.
Diablo 4 World Tier Options
Screenshot: Try Hard Guides

The World Tier system in Diablo 4 is a unique way to control the difficulty level of your game. It comes with four levels: Adventurer (Tier 1), Veteran (Tier 2), Nightmare (Tier 3), and Torment (Tier 4). Each one amps up the difficulty while promising better rewards. But how can you switch between these tiers to match your gameplay preference?

Choose Your World Tier When Loading the Game

Before you dive into the grim world of Sanctuary, the game offers you a chance to set your World Tier. You’ll see an option to select the tier right as the game loads. Choose the one that aligns with your skill level or desired challenge. Remember, you can’t change the World Tier from the in-game settings or any other menu once the game is loaded. However, you can change it if you head to a specific location.

Visit a World Tier Statue

You might be mid-way through your gameplay when you decide to change your World Tier. Don’t worry, you won’t have to quit the game and start over to do this. Instead, find a World Tier Statue located in any of the major cities in the game. One such statue can be found in the northeastern corner of Kyovashad, the first major city you reach in Diablo 4.

Diablo 4 World Tier Statue Map
Image: Map Genie

Approach the statue and interact with it. This action will open up a menu from where you can select a new World Tier, helping you adjust the game’s difficulty to your preference.

Understanding the World Tiers

Before you make your choice, here’s a brief look at what each World Tier means:

  • World Tier 1 – Adventurer: This is the base difficulty level. Enemies pose a minimal threat but can still be dangerous for some classes.
  • World Tier 2 – Veteran: Comparable to ‘normal’ difficulty in other games, this tier is suitable for those with some experience in Diablo 4 or similar RPGs. The game rewards a 20% XP and 15% gold boost.
  • World Tier 3 – Nightmare: Accessible only after completing the campaign and a level 50 ‘Capstone’ dungeon, this tier unlocks the Nightmare dungeon and Helltide endgame systems, as well as new item drops. You’ll gain 100% more XP and 15% more gold.
  • World Tier 4 – Torment: The highest difficulty in the game, this tier is unlocked after completing a higher-level Capstone dungeon. Enemies are strongest here, and players earn 200% bonus XP and 15% more gold. Ancient items, the most powerful items in the game, only drop in this tier.

Now that you know how to adjust the World Tier in Diablo 4, you’re ready to jump back into the game and face the challenges that best suit your skills and game goals.

Shaun Savage

Shaun Savage

Shaun Savage is the founder and editor-in-chief of Try Hard Guides. He has been covering and writing about video games for over 9 years. He is a 2013 graduate of the Academy of Art University with an A.A. in Web Design and New Media. In his off-time, he enjoys playing video games, watching bad movies, and spending time with his family.

More Content


Leave a Comment

All comments go through a moderation process, and should be approved in a timely manner. To see why your comment might not have been approved, check out our Comment Rules page!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.